• JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 367
Facebook Slider

The Hot Five - October #3

  • Written by  Tom Fake

The Hot Five – My favourite new tracks of the week, usually rounded off with a classic, obscure or alternate track from my music collection.

Track of the week: David Bowie – ‘Sue (Or In A Season Of Crime)’

David Bowie premiered new song 'Sue (Or In A Season Of Crime)' on BBC Radio 6 show Guy Garvey’s Finest Hour on Sunday. The track, which features on forthcoming compilation Nothing Has Changed, is a heavily jazz-influenced Bowie classic. The first new material since 2013’s comeback album The Next Day was recorded over the summer in New York with producer Tony Visconti and the Maria Schneider Orchestra. 'Sue (Or In A Season Of Crime)' is due to be released on 10-inch vinyl and digital download on November 17 alongside Nothing Has Changed.

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds – ‘In The Heat Of The Moment’

I can’t say that I’ve ever been a massive fan of Noel Gallagher’s post-Oasis releases. Having said that, the band’s new single ‘In The Heat Of The Moment’ demonstrates that Noel has clearly still got the ability to write a great hook or two. The single was announced this week along with details of a UK tour and new album, and Noel Gallagher also stated in a Facebook Q&A on Monday “I’ll headline Glastonbury if I’m asked”, having previously had a hit-and-miss association with the festival when headlining with Oasis in 1995 and 2004.  The High Flying Birds’ new album, Chasing Yesterday, will be released on March 2 2015.

Sego – ‘Wicket Youth’

Now we’ve got the more obvious tracks of the week out of the way, here’s something rather interesting. Taken from their debut EP of the same name, ‘Wicket Youth’ is a memorable example of intelligent electronic indie-pop from L.A-via-Utah newcomers Sego. Cheeky synth melodies compliment rhythmic interest in guitar parts and a melody that is carried fantastically by a strong vocal performance. The Wicket Youth EP will be released on October 27 via French label Kitsuné


Aubergine MACHINE – ‘Sundown’

Last week we had Bass Drum of Death, now I give you the (also) fantastically named Aubergine MACHINE. This electropop duo hails from Florida, and consists of producer Ian Carey (anyone remember ‘Get Shaky’ from 2008?) and vocalist Shanti Ellis. Here the duo creates a refreshing sound for this genre; this is a song driven by vocal melodies and synth hooks, but with clever rhythms and an evolving arrangement that helps to create a stimulating listening experience.

Hidden track of the week: The Hold Steady – ‘How A Resurrection Really Feels’

Currently powering their way through their latest UK tour in support of their new album Teeth Dreams, any Hold Steady fan will impressed and excited by the band’s recent set lists. Playing a range of material from all six of their albums, you can catch The Hold Steady live in the UK until October 23. ‘How A Resurrection Really Feels’ is the closing track to the band’s second LP, concept album Separation Sunday, and was the final song of their set at Birmingham’s O2 Academy on Monday night.

You can follow Tom on twitter @tom_fake 

Rate this item
(0 votes)
Login to post comments
back to top