Facebook Slider

Idles Announce Second LP

There’s little point in writing about music if you can’t harp on about your favourite bands. Idles have confirmed that their anticipated second LP, Joy as an Act of Resistance, will be out on August 31 via Partisan Records. Idles have also shared the album’s first single, a pro-immigration anthem entitled ‘Danny Nedelko’, which takes its name from one of the band’s close friends (and Ukrainian immigrant). The song is accompanied by a self-directed video that features Danny himself.

Produced by Space and mixed by Adam Greenspan & Nick Launay (Arcade Fire, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Kate Bush), Joy as an Act of Resistance takes aim at everything from toxic masculinity, nationalism, immigration, and class inequality - all while maintaining a visceral, infectious positivity.

Singer Joe Talbot summarises: “This album is an attempt to be vulnerable to our audience and to encourage vulnerability; a brave naked smile in this shitty new world. We have stripped back the songs and lyrics to our bare flesh to allow each other to breathe, to celebrate our differences, and act as an ode to communities and the individuals that forge them. Because without our community, we’d be nothing.”


1. Colossus

2. Never Fight a Man With a Perm

3. I’m Scum

4. Danny Nedelko

5. Love Song

6. June

7. Samaritans

8. Television

9. Great

10. Gram Rock

11. Cry To Me

12. Rottweiler


'Tour of Joy' 2018 dates:

16 Oct -  Bristol, UK - SWX

18 Oct – London, UK - O2 Forum Kentish Town

19 Oct – Manchester, UK - O2 Ritz

20 Oct – Glasgow, UK - O2 ABC

23 Oct – Newcastle, UK - Riverside

24 Oct – Leeds, UK - Leeds University Stylus

25 Oct – Nottingham, UK - Rock City

26 Oct - Birmingham, UK - Institute

27 Oct – Brighton, UK - Concorde 2

29 Oct - Oxford, UK -  O2 Academy


Rate this item
(0 votes)
More in this category: « Mallrat In The Sky Glosse Got Heat »
Login to post comments
back to top