Facebook Slider

Northward Release 'While Love Died'

Northward, the hard rock project from masterminds Floor Jansen and Jorn Viggo Lofstad, have finally unleashed their debut single 'While Love Died', alongside a video for the track. The single is a part of their upcoming debut album, also called Northward (due October 19). "We are both very proud and happy to finally get to show you all what we have been up to. Here is our first single! We hope you will enjoy it!" comments guitarist Jorn Viggo Lofstad.

It was during the 'All Star Jam' at Progpower USA Festival in 2007, when current Nightwish singer Floor Jansen and Pagan's Mind guitarist Jorn Viggo Lofstad spontaneously joined forces on stage for some cover songs and noticed the creative magic between them. Although the two musicians had never met before, they soon discovered their mutual love for stripped down hard rock and decided to write some songs together. In 2008 still barely knowing each other, they composed an entire album's worth of material in next to no time. But due to their tight schedules with their main bands, their new project named Northward never found its way into the spotlight - until this day!

In 2017, the year of Nightwish's break, Floor took the opportunity to contact her old friend Jorn Viggo again, to see if he was still interested in resurrecting Northward - and of course he was! "Jorn Viggo was positive about the project and we started to make the overall plans, meeting again in March of 2017 in Sweden to go through all the material together to see if we still felt happy with what we had created", remembers Floor Jansen.

Stepping free from all boundaries Northward 's sound is strong, euphoric and straight in the tradition of Skunk Anansie, Foo Fighters and Alter Bridge but also older bands such as Deep Purple and Led Zeppelin, the music comes straight to the point and makes no compromises.

With the help of producer Jacob Hansen (Volbeat etc.), who mixed the record, they forged a raw diamond composed of heavy riffs and Floor's incomparable voice, free from influences of the musicians' main bands. And although the songs had originally been written in 2008, they just felt as fresh and alive upon a second hearing, as they had on the very first day of their creation. "The music is melodic, but also in your face and kick ass rock. Cool riffs, good melodies, tasteful arrangements. We would simply like to call it 'Good Music'", commented the Floor and adds: "We wanted to explore a stripped down sound, with drums, bass, guitar and vocals. Not the heavy layers of keyboards, choirs etc."


01. While Love Died

02. Get What You Give

03. Storm In A Glass

04. Drifting Islands

05. Paragon

06. Let Me Out

07. Big Boy

08. Timebomb

09. Bridle Passion

10. I Need

11. Northward




Rate this item
(1 Vote)
Login to post comments
back to top