• JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 367
Facebook Slider

New The Head And The Heart Album

The Head And The Heart have announced their forthcoming LP,  Living Mirage, due out on May 17 on Warner Bros. Records/Reprise. ‘Missed Connection’, the first single from the new album, is out now.  The band have also announced a special livestream performance from The Belasco in Los Angeles on March 21. Fans can tune in to the stream beginning at 8:30pm PT on The Head and The Heart and Live Nation’s Facebook pages to watch the intimate performance, hear songs from the new album for the first time, and be the first to hear another major announcement from the band about their plans for this summer across North America.

Early last year, The Head And The Heart came together in the Mojave Desert’s Joshua Tree studio where they decided to shed old skin before writing their fourth album; a sweeping, artful expansion of the earthy folk rock that once defined them. This recent “rebirth, a spirit quest of sorts”, as bassist Chris Zasche describes it, came from growing pains after their last album, Signs of Light: the departure of guitarist-vocalist Josiah Johnson, replaced by Matt Gervais (husband to singer-violinist Charity Rose Thielen), and the return of keyboardist Kenny Hensley.

“In my mind, the songs on this album are vignettes”, Jon says. “Like ‘Brenda’ reminds me of when you’re a teenager at a house party. You’re surrounded by noise— ‘What am I doing here?’—and a ray of light comes down and you notice this person. You’re like, ‘Maybe I will stay.’ These songs feel honest.”

The palpitating-choral ‘Missed Connection’ is a poignant snapshot of the anxiety that preceded that growth spurt. “A lot of the beats on that song are quicker, and there are high hats that were never in our music before”, drummer Tyler Williams says, attributing the new sounds to their love of pop and hip-hop production. The track began as a remembrance of how Jon met his girlfriend, until morphing into a potent metaphor for the band — who met serendipitously around an open-mic night in Seattle 10 years ago — suddenly wondering, as he recalls, “Is it all going to work?”

Living Mirage Tracklisting:

01. See You Through My Eyes

02. Missed Connection

03. People Need a Melody

04. Honeybee

05. Brenda

06. Running Through Hell

07. Against The Wall

08. Saving Grace

09. I Found Out

10. Living Mirage

11. Glory of Music



Rate this item
(0 votes)
Login to post comments
back to top