Facebook Slider

KOJ Hear Thunder

German indie three-piece KOJ share their new single ‘Thunder’ along with a music video. It's the third single from the bands Long Branch Records label debut album Home coming April 24. ‘Thunder’ talks about those sudden changes in life that you didn’t anticipate. It’s the feeling of being completely fine one minute and next thing you know, you feel like your whole world is collapsing. Those moments that feel like a storm that is rolling in so quickly that you didn’t even have the time to prepare yourself for what’s to come. Almost mockingly and in stark contrast to the theme of the song, the music feels very light and up-tempo and more like a dance track. ‘Thunder’ thrives on the interplay of these two opposing forces.

KOJ comments on new single, "The song was written at the end of the recording process in a collaborative process with the producer Beray Habip. We wanted to add an uptempo track while staying true to the core elements of the KOJ sound. The chorus features a western style guitar lick similar to the intro of the first single ‘Home’. However, the almost techno like drum beat adds a new dimension to the atmospheric and thick sound palette."

KOJ share a strong common musical vision in addition to their roots as a family. As a closely interwoven trio they create dark, emotional soundscapes that captivate the listener. KOJ are children of the ‘90s and love the rock music of that time, which is reflected in the raw emotionality of their songs. KOJ wrap their musical essence in minimalistic and fine sound garments, which remind of triphop in some places and let the feeling lead the listener. The band shows itself sometimes unbending, sometimes fragile, sometimes self-confident. KOJ don't gloss over their songs, they are raw and to the point. In countless songwriting and recording sessions KOJ have worked on their sound world and created their musical home together with engineer and producer Beray Habip. An intimate and personal image of the soul life of three people has been created in the process. KOJ want to understand where they come from, where they are going and how they can exist in this world.


1 Stars

2 Home

3 Pamela

4 Jenny

5 Human Love

6 Thunder

7 Unscarred

8 Scarlett


Rate this item
(0 votes)
Login to post comments
back to top