Facebook Slider

Mute Records Sound Of Silence Box Set

  • Published in News

Mute have announced the latest release in the MUTE 4.0 (1978 > TOMORROW) series: STUMM433, a box set collating an unprecedented selection of Mute artists past, present and future, out in May. From The Normal, the artist that started Mute, to the label’s newest signing, K Á R Y Y N, STUMM433 will feature a huge array – over 50 - of Mute artists including Depeche Mode, Yann Tiersen, Liars, Silicon Teens, Irmin Schmidt and many more, all presenting their own interpretation of one piece of music: John Cage’s game changing composition, ‘4’33”’.

‘4’33”’ is among the most important of all contemporary music compositions. Composed and premiered in 1952, ‘4’33”’ is a piece for any instrument or combination of instruments. The score instructs the performer or performers not to play their instrument for the duration of the piece (generally four minutes and 33 seconds). As challenging and thought-provoking now as it was when it was premiered, ‘4’33”’ completely changed popular thinking on silence, sound, composition and listening.

Daniel Miller explains, “John Cage’s ‘4’33”’ has been present in my musical life for as long as I can remember as an important and inspiring composition. When the idea of every Mute artist doing their own interpretation of the piece came up during a conversation with Simon Fisher Turner, I immediately thought this was the perfect way to mark the label’s MUTE 4.0 (1978 > TOMORROW) series.”

Each artist has created a visual to accompany their performance of ‘4’33”’ and the box set launches with a video from Laibach. Filmed and recorded during Chess Game For Four at the HDLU’s Bačva Gallery Space in Zagreb (a reference to the famous photo of Duchamp Playing Chess with a Nude (Eve Babitz) in Pasadena museum and Cage’s Duchamp-inspired Chess Pieces in particular, the Reunion, which featured a specially constructed electronic chess board), Laibach’s interpretation of ‘4’33”’ features the Croatian performance artist Vlasta Delimar and a Slovenian designed levitating turntable.

Artists featured include:

A Certain Ratio, A.C. Marias, ADULT., The Afghan Whigs, Alexander Balanescu, Barry Adamson, Ben Frost, Bruce Gilbert, Cabaret Voltaire, Carter Tutti Void, Chris Carter, Chris Liebing, Cold Specks, Daniel Blumberg, Depeche Mode, Duet Emmo, Echoboy, Einstürzende Neubauten, Erasure, Fad Gadget (tribute), Goldfrapp, He Said, Irmin Schmidt, Josh T. Pearson, K Á R Y Y N, Komputer, Laibach, Land Observations, Lee Ranaldo, Liars, Looper, Lost Under Heaven, Maps, Mark Stewart, Michael Gira, Mick Harvey, Miranda Sex Garden, Moby, Modey Lemon, Mountaineers, New Order, Nitzer Ebb, NON, Nonpareils, The Normal, onDeadWaves, Phew, Pink Grease, Pole, Polly Scattergood, Renegade Soundwave, Richard Hawley, ShadowParty, Silicon Teens, Simon Fisher Turner, The Warlocks, Wire and Yann Tiersen.


Nitzer Ebb On Vinyl For The First Time

  • Published in News

Nitzer Ebb and Mute have announced details of the first in a re-release campaign of the band’s catalogue on vinyl and CD that will cover the world outside North America. Body of Work, a compilation originally released in 2006, will be available for the first time on vinyl on March 8, as a limited edition four-piece set on red and white vinyl.

Named one of the “most influential artists in music today” by the Guardian in 2018, the band recently made a return to live performance with the original line up of Bon Harris, Douglas McCarthy, David Gooday and Simon Granger, performing to sold out shows in London and Berlin at the end of last year. Nitzer Ebb have announced several dates for 2019, in Germany, Belgium and at the Infest festival in the UK in August – with more dates to be announced.

Nitzer Ebb began in Chelmsford, Essex in 1982, caught the ear of PWL producer Phil Harding in 1985, and soon after recorded two killer tracks: 'Let Your Body Learn' and 'Warsaw Ghetto'. They came to the attention of Daniel Miller and recorded the classic proto-balearic-techno album That Total Age (Mute, 1987), featuring classic tracks ‘Murderous’, ‘Join In The Chant’ and ‘Let Your Body Learn’. The album was followed by four more towering sonic and design classics Belief, Showtime, Ebbhead and Big Hit.

Nitzer Ebb went on to sell over 100,000 records in the States alone, tour with Depeche Mode and influence pioneering DJs and producers such as Richie Hawtin, Darren Emerson, Sven Väth, Helena Hauff, Objekt, DJ Hell, Tom Stephan, Danny Tenaglia as well as bands such as Smashing Pumpkins and Nine Inch Nails. They split in 1995, performing rarely after that date, and in 2010 released the album Industrial Complex.


25 Aug - Bradford, University Student Union - INFEST (UK)


Side A

Isn't It Funny How Your Body Works

Warsaw Ghetto


Let Your Body Learn

Join In The Chant


Side B

Control I’m Here

Hearts And Minds



Lightning Man


Side C

Fun To Be Had

Getting Closer

Family Man

Come Alive


Side D

I Give To You



Kick It

I Thought


Side E

Get Clean

Join In The Chant (Gold!)

Control I'm Here (Strategic Dancefloor Initiative Mix)


Side F

Hearts And Minds (Mix Hypersonic)

Shame (Mix Two)

Captivate (William Orbit Mix)


Side G

Backlash (William Orbit Mix)

Fun To Be Had (Long Mix)

Ascend (Remix)


Side H

Out Of Mind (Maitresse Mix)

Lakeside Drive (Remix)

Kick It (Popular Music Mix)

I Thought (Final Sin)




Subscribe to this RSS feed