Facebook Slider

New Gov't Mule Album Revolution Come… Revolution Go

Pre-eminent American rock band Gov't Mule have announced the release of their anticipated 10th studio album Revolution Come… Revolution Go, which will be released on June 9th through Spinefarm Records. Steeped in the roots and mystique of rock, blues, soul, jazz and country, and exemplified by the duality of the two lead singles – the walloping, aggressive guitar riffs of ‘Stone Cold Rage’ and the simmering, soulful grooves of ‘Sarah, Surrender’ – Revolution Come… Revolution Go is a thrilling musical journey and Gov’t Mule’s most diverse album to date.

The group began recording the album in Austin, TX, on Election Day in November 2016, with half the country poised for upset no matter what the outcome. It is a sentiment that is evident on songs like ‘Stone Cold Rage’, ‘Pressure Under Fire’ and the title track. While Gov’t Mule’s storytelling has always been inspired in part by American struggles and experiences, Revolution Come… Revolution Go finds the band’s finger on the pulse of the very divided political climate, poignantly capturing the tension and emotions felt by Americans regardless of political affiliation. These lyrical observations are threaded together with a message of unity.

The album’s cover art speaks to this theme. Created by artist Richard Borge, it displays a soldier atop a broken toy mule facing the wrong way as he yells through an orange street cone. “It’s that same idea,” explains frontman Warren Haynes, referring to the country’s current state of affairs. “The character is yelling to nobody and facing backwards.”

Long-time collaborator Gordie Johnson joined Haynes as co-producer for six tunes, while the legendary Don Was co-produced on the powerful and moving ‘Dreams & Songs’ and the thought-provoking ‘Pressure Under Fire’; meanwhile, revered guitarist Jimmie Vaughan makes a sizzling cameo on the super-charged ‘Burning Point’.

Listen to the lead single ‘Stone Cold Rage’ here

Revolution Come…Revolution Go Standard Track-listing:

1. Stone Cold Rage

2. Drawn That Way

3. Pressure Under Fire

4. The Man I Want To Be

5. Traveling Tune

6. Thorns Of Life

7. Dreams & Songs

8. Sarah, Surrender

9. Revolution Come, Revolution Go

10. Burning Point (ft. Jimmie Vaughan)

11. Easy Times

12. Dark Was The Night, Cold Was The Ground


Deluxe Version – Bonus CD:

1. What Fresh Hell

2. Click-Track

3. Outside Myself

4. Revolution Come, Revolution Go (Alternate Version)

5. The Man I Want To Be (Live In Studio Version)

6. Dark Was The Night, Cold Was The Ground (Live In Studio Version)


Rate this item
(0 votes)
Login to post comments
back to top