Facebook Slider

Afire Are On the Road From Nowhere

Afire is a melodic hard rock band hailing from Oulu, Finland. The band was formed in 2016 when vocalist Suvi Hiltunen joined forces with long-term Oulu-based musicians guitarist Antti Leiviskä (ex-Poisonblack, Brüssel Kaupallinen), guitarist Sami Kukkohovi (ex-Sentenced, KYPCK), bassist Harri Halonen and drummer Tarmo Kanerva (ex-Poisonblack).

The band´s debut album, On the Road from Nowhere is due to be released on November 16 by Concorde Music Company. The album was recorded in various locations during the winter 2017-2018. The vocal tracks were produced and recorded by Jonas Olsson (Amorphis, Poisonblack) and the album was mixed by Hiili Hiilesmaa (HIM, Moonspell, Apocalyptica). 

Here’s how the songwriter Harri Halonen comments the album: “I´ve had a bunch of songs for quite a while, but for which I didn’t have an outlet, so we started Afire. With Suvi’s vocal lines and lyrics, the songs started molding into their current shape, and we finished them together. Lyrically the album is about leaving, departing. It’s not a theme album, but the lyrics do revolve around the subject anyhow.”




Rate this item
(0 votes)
Login to post comments
back to top