Facebook Slider

Jade Imagine Share The News

Melbourne-based Jade Imagine have shared a new single and video ‘The News’, taken from their upcoming debut LP, Basic Love, due for release next week via Marathon Artists & Courtney Barnett's label, Milk! Records.

About the track, front-woman Jade McInally says: "I really can’t keep up with the news. No word of a lie. A story about accepting the fact that the wheels will always be turning, whether you like it or not. Sometimes it makes me angry. Sometimes I can’t stay on top of it all. This song wasn’t really in the mix to go on the record at first, but [producer/guitarist] Tim kept pushing to explore it... and it became one of the funnest and most playful to record."

The production behind Basic Love nicely adds to the dualistic feel of the album, recording each track live and using exclusively analog instruments to form an organic but artificial sensation. Produced and mixed by Tim Harvey with the jumping off point and guidance of Jade’s vision, each track lays gently over a bed of analogue warmth, alluding to past and future technologies and capturing the intimate essence of lo-fi recordings. It has a cohesive yet fluid sound achieved by an impeccable balance that prioritises the space and dynamics between instrumentation and vocals. It’s a neat and timeless production reminiscent of bands like Talking Heads, Broadcast, Blondie, Sonic Youth and Mazzy Star.

Following their debut EP, What The Fuck Was I Thinking?  (Milk Records, 2017), in Basic Love each member of jade imagine has consolidated their skills and role as part of a unit to create a powerful album in close consultation with each other. It’s an intimate collaboration where consideration and attention to detail create songs that speak of the personal as much as the political with much lyrical efficiency and technical poeticism.

Basic Love track list:

1. Gonna Do Nothing

2. The News

3. Big Old House  

4. Remote Control

5. I'll Take You There

6. The Weekend

7. Cut Me Off

8. Past Life

9. Get Out Of Your Head

10. Don't Say It's Over



Rate this item
(0 votes)
Login to post comments
back to top