• JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 367
Facebook Slider

The Levellers Announce New Album

The Levellers have released the brand new single ‘Food Roof Family’, the first track to be taken from their forthcoming new studio album Peace, which will be released on the August 14 via On The Fiddle Recordings. Whilst the video confronts the misleading and deceptive tactics used by the media to marginalise the vulnerable, the track blazes with anger and urgency and its lyrical concerns are unvarnished and unambiguous.

“Everybody needs those three things, it doesn’t matter where you’re from,” says singer / guitarist Mark Chadwick. “It’s something that we all crave. Why does anybody want more roof than anybody else, or more food than anybody else, or want to kill anybody else’s family. It doesn’t make any sense.”

Peace arrives almost eight years since the Brighton band’s last album of original material, 2012’s Static On The Airwaves, though the band – completed by Simon Friend (guitar/vocals), Jon Sevink (fiddle), Charlie Heather (drums) and Matt Savage (keyboards) – have been far from idle.

During that time, they’ve toured the world multiple times and released 2018’s acclaimed We The Collective, which featured acoustic versions of several classic Levellers songs and was their highest charting album in more than two decades.

Now on the upcoming tour the band are partnering with local homeless charities in each town and encouraging fans to bring items along to donate whether it be a hat, coat or toiletries and more. The Facebook events page for each gig will have a list of anything specifically needed. This has stemmed from Charlie and Matt working with the group, Sussex Homeless Support. This has included raising at their Beautiful Days Festival last year as well as continued support throughout the year, from taking part in the World’s Big Sleep Out in Brighton to helping at a local Street Kitchen, making a massive donation from their concert at The Brighton Dome and producing badges to raise funds for SHS. This sense of positivity that the band possess is brought to life by the album’s striking artwork of a vivid phoenix painted, like all of the band’s covers, by Jeremy Cunningham.



12        Bury St Edmunds, The Apex SOLD OUT

13        Bury St Edmunds, The Apex SOLD OUT

14        Falmouth, Princess Pavilion SOLD OUT

15        Falmouth, Princess Pavillion SOLD OUT

16        Falmouth, Princess Pavillion SOLD OUT

26        Brecon, Theatre Brycheiniog SOLD OUT

27        Port Talbot, Princess Theatre SOLD OUT

28        Blackwood, Miners Institute SOLD OUT

29        Llandudno, Venue Cymru



01        Liverpool, Grand Central

19        Guildford, G Live

20        Norwich, Uea

21        Margate, Dreamland



29        Sheffield, Leadmill SOLD OUT

30        Coventry, Empire



01        Holmfirth, Picturedrome SOLD OUT

02        Holmfirth, Picturedrome SOLD OUT

13        Hastings, White Rock Theatre

14        Frome, Cheese & Grain SOLD OUT

15        Aylesbury, Waterside Theatre

16        Southampton, O2 Guildhall



20        Birmingham, Digbeth Arena - A Beautiful Day Out with guests

27        Bristol, Harbourside - A Beautiful Day Out with guests



21-23   Devon, Beautiful Days Festival



07        Eindhoven, Effenaar (Nl)

08        Amsterdam, Paradiso (Nl)

09        Koln Gloria, (De)

10        St Niklaas, Casino (Be) SOLD OUT

11        Depot, Leuven (Be)



04        York, Barbican

05        Dundee, Fat Sams

06        Stirling, Albert Halls

07        Edinburgh, Liquid Rooms

08        Aberdeen, Lemon Tree

18        St Albans, Arena

19        Scunthorpe, The Baths Hall

20        Manchester, Albert Hall

21        Manchester, Albert Hall



03        Lancaster, Town Hall

04        Nottingham, Rock City

05        Nottingham, Rock City SOLD OUT



Rate this item
(0 votes)
Login to post comments
back to top