Facebook Slider

Wye Oak Announce No Horizon EP

For multi-instrumentalists Jenn Wasner and Andy Stack, there is no fear of the unknown, no preciousness about rigidity, no hard definition of what their ever-evolving project Wye Oak is. There is no “if” about whether or not they’ll experiment with the format of their musical output—it’s “how?”

Case in point: No Horizon, the forthcoming EP featuring five new songs Wye Oak recorded with the Brooklyn Youth Chorus, available everywhere from July 31 via Merge. The lyric video for ‘AEIOU’ featuring artwork by Eva Claycomb and animated by Bradley Hale.

Jenn Wasner on the background of ‘AEIOU’: “This song is about the inadequacy of language. It was written around the time that those currently in power took it upon themselves to think that they could minimize the existence of certain people by removing the words that we currently use to define them—like transgender—from use. Language is bigger than the powers that try to control it, but we are so much bigger than language. We are so much more than anything that can be suggested with words.”

No Horizon is a natural progression for a band embracing experimentation. Late 2019 and early 2020 saw Wye Oak release the singles ‘Fortune’, ‘Fear of Heights’, and ‘Walk Soft’ in a more immediate fashion, condensing the window from creation to release. Wasner and Stack also expanded their live set-up from a duo to a five-piece band that included some of their most trusted and admired collaborators.

'No Horizon' track list:


2. No Place

3. Spitting Image

4. (cloud)

5. Sky Witness


Rate this item
(0 votes)
Login to post comments
back to top