• JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 367
Facebook Slider

Dub Pistols New Album out Friday Featured

Dub Pistols announce the release of their new album, Addict, set for release on Friday, through Sunday Best Recordings.  Addict is the eighth studio album from the highly respected group.  The record promises a melting pot of dubwise sensibility, junglist riddims and feelgood party anthems and is already shaping up to be one of the year’s essential releases.

“I recorded over three albums worth of music to get to the finished version of Addict,” says Dub Pistols mastermind Barry Ashworth.  “Every time I finished a song, I would come up with another idea for a track and an artist I wanted to work with. It's been incredible to collaborate with all the legends that I have on this record, but it's also the new emerging talent such as Natty Campbell and Gardna that have really given me new enthusiasm.  The album has taken two years to record but has been 25 years in the making.”

Dub Pistols previously released their incredible single, ‘Stand Together’, back in June which features 2 Tone heroine, Rhoda Dakar who fronted The Bodysnatchers, recorded with The Specials, Madness and most recently toured with The Selecter on their 40 years of 2Tone Tour as a DJ and special guest.  In these unprecedented times, Dub Pistols and Rhoda hope the message rings loud and clear. 

“‘Stand Together’ was written about how far we’ve come, but how much further we still have to go when it comes to the fight against racism.  We used footage from civil rights movements as the basis of the video and now to watch what is going on over in America and how racism is still so seismic in our society is devastating.  We need to stand together, learn from history, and move forward - united.” - Barry Ashworth

Full album tracklist is as follows:

1 - Addict (Feat. Cheshire Cat)

2 - Dark Days Dark Times (Feat. Mc Navigator & Seanie T)

3 - Go Tell Your Friends (Feat. Horseman)

4 - Stand Together (Feat. Rhoda Dakar)

5 - Chalice (Feat. General Jah Mikey)

6 - Wicked & Wild (Feat. Natty Campbell)

7 - Cool Out (Feat. Lindy Layton & Seanie T)

8 - Two Generals (Feat. Ragga Twins)

9 - Sound Sweet (Feat. Natty Campbell)

10 - Camberwell Carrot (Feat. Natty Campbell)

11 - Soundboy (Feat. Cheshire Cat)



Rate this item
(0 votes)
Login to post comments
back to top