Facebook Slider

New Pornographers New Track & Album Release Date

  • Published in News

Matador Records release The New Pornographers’ highly anticipated new album this summer - Brill Bruisers will be out on August 25th.

Listen to the album's title track at the foot of this article.

Brill Bruisers is the band's first new release in four years. The New Yorker describes the band’s music as “Magnificent and clever” while Stereogum proclaims “In recent history, no group has featured so much formidable established talent, collaborating on a regular basis.” 

Of the album, lead-singer and main songwriter AC Newman comments, “This is a celebration record. After periods of difficulty, I am at a place where nothing in my life is dragging me down and the music reflects that. I’m grateful.”  

Produced by band-member John Collin (bass) with Newman, the 12-track album was recorded primarily at Little Blue in Woodstock, NY and at JC/DC Studios in Vancouver B.C. with additional recording in Austin, Brooklyn and Vermont.  A limited edition multi-coloured paint splattered version of the LP is available through the Matador and The New Pornographers web-stores. You can pre-order this limited edition vinyl from the band or label and receive a 3D poster and 3D glasses (while supplies last).

Since their debut in 1999, The New Pornographers have released five studio albums including their most recent, Together (2010), of which, NPR Music praised,“Unimpeachable pop gems…these are the songs of summer”.

The New Pornographers are A.C. Newman, Blaine Thurier, Dan Bejar, John Collins, Kathryn Calder, Kurt Dahle, Neko Case and Todd Fancey. The album cover design was created by Steven Wilson and Thomas Burden, the interactive artwork page was designed by Chris Shier.
Brill Bruisers track-listing:
1. Brill Bruisers
2. Champions Of Red Wine
3. Fantasy Fools
4. War On The East Coast
5. Backstairs
6. Marching Orders
7. Another Drug Deal Of The Heart
8. Born With A Sound
9. Wide Eyes
10. Dancehall Domine
11. Spidyr
12. Hi-Rise
13. You Tell Me Where

July 18-20 Pemberton, BC - Pemberton Music Festival
August 29-31 Edmonton, AB - Sonic Boom Festival
August 31 Edmonton, AB - Edmonton Northlands
September 6 Detroit, MI - Majestic Theatre
September 6-7 Toronto, ON - Riot Fest
October 5 & 6 Seattle, WA - The Showbox
October 8 Portland, OR - Crystal Ballroom
October 9 Boise, ID - Knitting Factory
October 10 Salt Lake City, UT - The Depot
October 11 Denver, CO - Gothic Theatre
October 13 Phoenix, AZ - The Crescent Ballroom
October 14 Tucson, AZ - Rialto Theatre
October 15 Pioneertown, CA - Pappy & Harriet’s Pioneertown Palace
October 17 Los Angeles, CA - The Wiltern
October 18 San Diego, CA - North Park Theatre
November 4 Nashville, TN - Cannery Ballroom
November 5 Asheville, NC - Orange Peel
November 6 Atlanta, GA - Buckhead Theatre
November 7 New Orleans, LA - Civic Theatre
November 7-9 Austin, TX - Fun Fun Fun Fest
November 10 St. Louis, MO - The Pageant
November 11 Omaha, NE - Slowdown
November 13 Milwaukee, WI - Pabst Theater
November 14 Chicago, IL - Riviera Theatre
November 15 Cleveland, OH - House of Blues
November 17 New York, NY - Hammerstein Ballroom
November 19 Boston, MA - House of Blues
November 20 Philadelphia, PA - Union Transfer
November 21 Washington, DC - 9:30 Club
November 23 Carrboro, NC - Cat’s Cradle
(additional world tour dates to be announced)

Subscribe to this RSS feed