Facebook Slider

Lucy Dacus New Halloween Cover

  • Published in News

Lucy Dacus’s 2019 EP will be released on November 8 on Matador Records. Following her acclaimed Holiday-themed singles ‘La Vie En Rose’, ‘My Mother & I’, ‘Forever Half Mast’ and most recently ‘Dancing In The Dark’, her EP announcement comes with a new Halloween-inspired cover of Phil Collins’ ‘In The Air Tonight’. Lucy’s 2019 EP will feature two more tracks celebrating the winter holidays – a cover of ‘Last Christmas’ and an original ode to New Year’s titled ‘Fools Gold’. In addition, a special bundle set of the 2019 EP and a limited edition, clear vinyl pressing of Dacus’s breakthrough 2018 album Historian will be available through the Matador Records webstore.

In this spirited cover, Lucy revamps ‘In The Air Tonight’ into a Halloween anthem by magnifying the original song’s ominous undertones, bringing the mythology behind Phil Collins’ song to the forefront with haunting vocals and penetrating reverb. In Lucy’s own words, “perhaps the best eerie bop of all time, and certainly the best drum fill. The image in the first verse is so unsettling- watching someone watch someone drown without moving to save them. People have wondered if this is something Phil Collins really witnessed, but the song is actually just a manifestation of his anger and frustration about his divorce. It's tense, dark, and so much fun, as a good Halloween should be. This was the most fun I've ever had in a studio.”

Dacus has continued to go from strength to strength in 2019 – touring across Australia, Europe and North America, appearing at festivals including Primavera, Best Kept Secret and Hopscotch, making her Austin City Limits debut, opening for Mitski at two Central Park Summer Stage shows, and playing her biggest headlines to date, including a sold-out show at London’s EartH. Her writing career is taking off, with a recently published op-ed in the New York Times on the anniversary of Woodstock and another in Vanity Fair on Bruce Springsteen’s legacy. She expounded the unique approach of the 2019 song series in a recent interview with Spotify For Artists, and the release was also highlighted on The New York Times’ Fall Preview.

2019 - Tracklisting:

1. La Vie En Rose

2. My Mother & I

3. Forever Half Mast

4. Dancing In The Dark

5. In The Air Tonight

6. Last Christmas

7. Fool's Gold




Kim Gordon Debut Solo Album

  • Published in News

Kim Gordon announces her first-ever solo album, No Home Record, to be released October 11 on Matador Records.  The announcement of No Home Record follows the recent opening of Gordon’s solo exhibition, She Bites Her Tender Mind, at IMMA (Irish Museum of Modern Art) in Dublin and Lo-Fi Glamour at Warhol Museum in Pittsburgh. Among its nine tracks, No Home Record features new single 'Sketch Artist' accompanied by a video directed by Berlin-based experimental artist Loretta Fahrenholz and includes a cameo from actress and writer Abbi Jacobson.

No Home Record was produced largely by Justin Raisen (Charli XCX, Ariel Pink, Sky Ferreira) at Sphere Ranch in Los Angeles, along with contributions from Shawn Everett (Jim James, The Voidz, The War on Drugs) and composer/filmmaker Jake Meginsky (L’appel Du Vide). Gordon’s solo debut album’s title is a nod to the French-Belgian director Chantal Akerman’s film No Home Movie .

“‘Why a solo record? And why now?,’” Gordon mused of the upcoming solo debut. “I don’t know, but it wouldn’t have happened without the persistence of Justin Raisen.  Living in LA the last few years it feels like home, but the transience of the place makes it feel sometimes like no home.”

Since co-founding the legendary Sonic Youth in the early 80s, Kim Gordon has remained at the nexus of music, fashion, art and (more recently) books and film. In the past few years alone, Gordon has debuted in the #1 spot on the NY Times Bestseller List with her 2015 memoir Girl In A Band, acted alongside Joaquin Phoenix and Jonah Hill under the direction of Gus Van Sant (in 2018’s Don’t Worry, He Won’t Get Far On Foot), released music and performed as one half of Body/Head alongside Bill Nace, and opened multiple solo-exhibitions at internationally renowned museums.

No Home Record - Tracklisting:

1 Sketch Artist

2 Air BnB

3 Paprika Pony

4 Murdered Out

5 Don’t Play It

6 Cookie Butter

7 Hungry Baby

8 Earthquake

9 Get Yr Life Back



Subscribe to this RSS feed